a little korean cafeteria at Seoul Oriental Food Market

Asian who doesn’t eat rice everyday broke the rule only after two food blogs. My mother went to a korean restaurant which is located inside of Seoul Oriental Food Market. Last night I danced at least 3 hours non-stop at a club for my friend’s birthday. When it comes to hang over, there is nothing like eating soup in the next day rejuvenation…especially “Korean” soup. Since I am at work, my all-time servant, my mom (*^0^*) delivered my hang over medicine.

This low maintenance cafeteria (due to its size) has no banner or menubook for each table that same dish costs about two bucks less than other competitors. A chief does everything with an assistant. It operates with semi-self serve method. Thirsty? get your own water. To-Go? get your own doggy bag from next to water dispenser.

The chief spends her entire life running restaurants in Korea. oh yes~ she is the real one. Between the chief and you, there is a ten feet long counter top where you can look over her cooking. My favorite is seafood silky tofu soup with pick your own spiciness (you probably know my level by now), which includes seafood mix – shellfish, shrimp and squid, onion, zucchini, egg, soft tofu and mystery red pepper paste by the chief. The soup comes with rice and assorted side dishes. The side dishes change everyday. For today, I got pan saute zucchini with white onion, egg boiled in soy sauce and kimchi three ways ( chinese cabbage, chives and cucumber). I order multi-grain rice instead of white sticky rice (medium grain) which composes of sweet rice, wild rice, brown rice and randomly spotted lima bean. Sweet rice is main ingredient for rice cake that it contributes viscous gummy texture to the rice. It is just simply good and healthy. The side dishes are well seasoned, too, but don’t tell me to criticize the kimchi..My grand mother spoiled my palette for it (She uses generous amount of pickled shrimp, shellfish and fish sauce). Deep and clean taste of the soup is light with hint of sea water flavor.

hint: Even in ten years ago, Korean wasn’t familiar with tipping in a restaurant. The price you pay at a cash register doesn’t include the tip. Don’t miss the tip jar on the cooking counter.

size comparison: my 24oz morning coffee juxtaposes with the soup container (very generous amount)-my deep apology for the quality of the photo…I was shaking hungry by lunch at 2pm.

That rice is the killer. Taste just like what i had from Korea. Don’t forget to ask for it or you will get just plain white.

Leave a Reply

